Think of a Happy Thought

It’s amazing how a disease can change your entire outlook on life. Even though I have an unwanted tenant growing inside of me, I have never felt more alive than I do now. I appreciate things that I didn’t appreciate before and I see things entirely differently (even if that means I can’t tell the difference between 6 and 9 :P) For example, Sarah has been wanting to sit in my lap at meals now and while that definitely wouldn’t fly any other time, right now having her nuzzled up in my lap with her sweet curls within kissing distance doesn’t seem so bad. After all, she won’t want to sit in my lap forever.

We had always said that we would wait until Sarah was 4 or 5 until we took her to Disney. But we also didn’t plan on me getting grade IV brain cancer either so we work with what we have and roll with the punches. The discovery of my tenant has really ignited a fire inside of me. Definitely spiritually, but a desire to do even more. I have always been a woman of adventure but life is too short to wait for adventures! You aren’t guaranteed a certain amount of time here on earth so why wait?! With this fire I decided Sunday that I wanted to go to Disney World with Sarah on Monday and anyone that knows me knows that when I say I want to do something, I make it happen. The truth is, even though I know in my heart I am going to beat this, I also know that I don’t want to risk not being the one to take her for the first time. So with the help of Michael and his parents, we packed up and went on Monday! There was one glitch in my wanting to do Disney right now and that is my energy, or lack there of. I get worn out so quickly now, and although I had this grand idea of a last minute trip to Disney, how on earth was I going to survive all day long?? The solution? A wheelchair. Ugh, I hated the idea so much. I am fully capable of walking. But I knew (as well as everyone else) that there was no way I would last. I mean seriously, we were 10 minutes in the park and my hands were shaking. So I had to put my pride aside and accept the help. And you know what? It was such a blessing. We were at the park for over 8 hours and I got the best snuggles from Sarah because she rode on my lap all around the park. As much as I hate asking for help, I am so thankful for the help we have had. Our families and friends are absolutely incredible.

Honestly, I didn’t think she was going to be into it. She is so hit or miss with rides and well, she hated Santa, so why would she like the Disney characters?! Boy was I wrong. I have never seen so much joy on her face. Honestly, it was one of my favorite days together as a family. I felt so genuinely happy and appreciated every moment and every smile so deeply. When she ran into Minnie’s arms and kissed her I about cried. I am so glad that the Lord pushed us to go. The smiles and joy I saw in Sarah gave me a boost I needed as we start this journey. She lit my fire to fight even harder. We rode so many rides, including her very first roller coaster, which was bumpy and slow according to Sarah. We met all the Disney characters and she loved it so much. Truly it was a day I will never forget.

img_2568img_2572img_2577img_2579img_2581img_2582

Life is too short. Go on your dream vacation NOW and eat ice cream for dinner.

18 thoughts on “Think of a Happy Thought

  1. Sooo happy you did that!!! Love the pictures!! You know Sarah is going to remember this forever! I will say though, Santa IS a lot scarier than Mickey & Minnie or any of the Princesses!!!! Love you guys! And always praying. 🙏🏼 YOU GOT THIS!

    Like

  2. I’m so glad you all did this and you look so happy and Sarah is just too cute in the pictures. We took Sean when he was two because of the girls and he had a better time than they did. He also had more energy to do things and excited. Thanks for all the wonderful pictures. Praying several times a day. LYMOYID Grandma S

    Like

  3. So happy you were able to take Sarah to Disney. I commend you for your faith and positive attitude. Continued prayers for you and your families and your prescious daughter Sarah. I will continue to share your updates for prayers throughout our nation and abroad 😉 Thinking of you!

    Like

  4. Love the joy you are sharing through your countenance, I don’t know you, but I certainly recognize your heart, Step out each day, and dance around every corner…..you never know what you are going to see! Prayers for more days, more joy and more life!

    Like

  5. I am so impressed with you Stephanie. You are a ROCK girl and you will ROCK this as well. My prayers are with you every day too. I’m so glad you took this trip to Disney and made those memories with Sarah. She is so adorable! Love and Healing Hugs to you sweetheart.

    Like

  6. Sounds like a perfect day! I haven’t had the joy of meeting you and I haven’t seen Michael since he was very young, but I am a cousin. Michael’s Granddad Joel and I were first cousins. Please know that I am praying for you daily.

    Like

  7. I can’t even handle how cute your family is. I’m so glad you are brave enough to let all of us into your life as you go through all of this. Thinking of you constantly!

    Like

  8. I just read all of your posts so far and this one really touched me. Whenever I think of you, I think of the word “feisty”, and I love seeing that feisty Stephanie that I knew in college keeping up her gumption in what many would consider the darkest time possible. What a blessing you are to your daughter, to your husband, and to all who know you. Your last line in this post is so powerful. Thank you for waking me up again. And thank you for sharing these intimate details. You are continuously in my thoughts during this time.

    Like

  9. Stephanie, you sang at our son’s wedding at St Mary in Franklin. God has given you such a beautiful voice. Thank you for sharing this gift ! We are praying for you here at St Mary, for total healing, and for all your family. Please include in your prayers our son Ben and his wife Lexie. They are expecting their first child in June this year. Prayers for them and their baby girl are appreciated…her name is Avery Ann ! Love, Charles and Cathy Lindon

    Like

Leave a Reply

