Monday evening update.

Hello everyone! I’ve finally made it around to updating my blog. A huge thank you to Michael for keeping everyone in the loop and updating it for me when I couldn’t.  I have spent the past couple of days catching up on sleep and eating more real food.  They put me on a liquid diet for a couple of days and today I had real food for the first time in days! It was glorious!

Recovery is going pretty smoothly. I have been up and walking and talking and starting to feel more like myself. We met with our new panel of doctors this afternoon and are set to start radiation and chemo later this week or early next week. Normally they wait 4-6 weeks to start radiation after having surgery but because Glioblastoma is so aggressive, the entire thing could grow back if we delay treatment. I also had my mask made today for radiation (it looks like it’s made out of Borats mesh underwear)! It helps the radiologist get the exact location to zap the tumor. We were so nervous to be coming here for treatment but after all the signs God sent us, we knew this is where we were being called to go! Our surgeon and nurse staff have been nothing short of amazing. I know that we are exactly where we are supposed to be right now.

img_2604.img_2602

The second photo is me prepping for (yet another) CT. This was my 7th scan in the past 3 weeks. SEVENTH. I’m so thankful I’m not claustrophobic! As much as I don’t like this situation, I’m so thankful that it has happened. It has helped my relationships with family members, friends, and even complete strangers. It just goes to show you that you have no idea what people have gone/are going through. So just be kind!

I’ll end tonight’s post on a funny story (or maybe it’s not funny, I just think it is lol). So last night after taking 6 pills and getting pumped with several drugs intreveniously, I was totally exhausted and honestly a little cray. I changed into my hospital gown and wore it over some of my Lula leggings and I was convinced that my hospital gown was a new Irma I bought (an Irma is a style of shirt). I kept asking Michael and my mom if they liked it because I loved the pattern 😂 It was cracking me up thinking about it today!

Thank you for all the continued prayers and support. We both feel so much hope and peace with what is going on and I just pray that we can keep these positive attitudes as we enter this new chapter of our lives.

 

30 thoughts on “Monday evening update.

  1. You guys are such a wonderful example!! Thank you for your witness of faith. And from today’s Gospel passage from Mark: “All things are possible for God.”

    Like

  2. I absolutely love your positive attitude and that you were excited about your hospital gown over your Lula leggings last night, and that you are moving right on into your treatments. I brings back memories for me of exactly 3 years ago as my husband began radiation for his glioblastoma multiforme on March 2, 2014. It was a beautiful thing to see how the family all came together, my brother, sister, and their families gathering at the ICU unit in Denver, the LOVE pouring out. The way it wakes everyone up…this is life, this is not a rehearsal, you know? Please have a wonderful day!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Stephanie. So glad things are progressing positively for you. Your attitude and grace are so inspirational and how right you are about being kind. It is said that some of the best evidence of our faith will be our kindness! Continued prayers, love & hugs to all of you. And I know you rocked that gown with your leggings too! ☺ 💜

    Like

  4. Oh my gosh I love you so much, I am cracking up over here over the Irma part, lol. I love reading your updates so much, it’s like I can hear you telling me yourself! Sending love and prayers – always!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Stephanie,
    Thank you so much for the update! Michael did a wonderful job with the updates, But it’s great to hear from you again! So glad your recovery is going well. Continued prayers for all of you!

    Like

  6. Stephanie
    Continued prayers you are an inspiration to all of us that faith, hope, and love are the most precious gifts we have and to give… love to all of you a big hug

    Like

  7. Oh my it is so good to hear from you. Michael did am awesome job updating everyone. Be sure and let him know how much it was appreciated. Prayers continue for complete healing for you and for your family to always feel the comfort and peace from our Saviour. Thanks for a good chuckle this morning about the Irma. Good one to share with your consultant. God’s peace and blessings, Theresa

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Stephanie and Michael, I stumbled onto your blog and immediately felt drawn to join in and pray. My family has also experienced the loving grace of our God who chooses to work through prayer and through broken lives. You are a light to everyone who is coming in contact with your story and especially to the medical teams and others in the hospitals. It’s a strange thing how pain and suffering can offer hope, but it does when we offer the Lord a surrendered heart as you both are doing. Praying for joy and kindness to surround you today.

    Like

  9. Stephanie, so happy to hear you have such peace about where you are for care and that things are making progress. Like many, I enjoy seeing your updates and especially seeing how He is working in your life! Gotta say though, that your smile says it all. Keep smiling and we’ll keep praying and supporting you guys. Big hugs from Panama City.

    Like

  10. Good morning! Prayers continue for your COMPLETE healing……for your strength and courage for each day as you take this journey!! Love your attitude! It is one of the essentials in positiveness, the basis of hope! Have a blessed day!

    Like

  11. Stephanie- God is continuing to watch over you. Although Michael did a great job of keeping everyone updated, it’s amazing that you can blog on your own again, only three days after major surgery.

    For those who know Stephanie only thru their blog, let me tell you that she has the singing voice of an angel; I’ve never heard another like her’s. While texting with another St. Mary (Franklin/Springboro) church member, we said to each other that Stephanie’s ordeal has made us want to hop on a plane (after they get back home and settled,) locate their parish and fly down just to hear her lovely voice again. 😊🎶

    Like

  12. Hearing from you personally is such a pleasure, Stephanie. You and Michael are such fine examples of strength, faith, and enduring love, and we marvel at your spirit! We will continue our prayers for your recovery as you begin treatment. Love to you both!

    Like

  13. GOD Bless your recovery and I am loving that you continue to let your awesome spirit shine through! Keeping you in constant prayer ❤ Thank you for updating us! LOVE LOVE LOVE this post 🙂

    Like

  14. Stephanie,

    We just heard last night about your diagnosis, surgery, and recovery. So sorry this has happened to you, Michael and Sarah, but so overjoyed by your faith, amazing attitude, and the many miraculous interventions! You’re both truly an inspiration. You and your family are in our thoughts and prayers, and we’ll be following your progress closely.

    Love, hugs, prayers, and best wishes,
    Jim & Ellen Ratti

    Like

  15. Wanted to let you know that three different congregations here in Cincinnati (one Quaker, one Presbyterian and one mega-church) have been praying for you. Your blog is touching people everywhere…just as God has touched you.

    Like

  16. Hello Stephanie, someone I know (Susan Farese) shared your blog and I am joining in the prayer for a complete recovery for you! I love reading about the signs from God. May he bless you and heal you in His name.

    Like

  17. Stephanie, so thrilled to hear of your progress! Thanks for the update! Love your LLR story! ❤ those comfy things! Continue holding strong! Hugs from the “ickell” family!

    Like

  18. Stephanie, you are SUCH a strong young woman! And your Michael is most definately a “keeper”. Reading your blog lets me just know that your radiation/chemo will go as smoothly and successfully as the surgery. Our God is SUCH a good God! I know He holds you securely in His Hands, and will continue to do so. Your blogs are so up-lifting to read. Thank you for sharing such a personal story about your life. I so enjoy reading about your latest success(es). Again, I don’t know you, but since Lanie is sort of family (her cousin, Laura, is married to my son, Daniel) I feel like I know you through her. All my love.

    Like

  19. Hi Stephanie! I’m Jenna Miller’s older sister and I’ve been following your story through this blog and from updates Jenna sends me. You are truly amazing (and quite hilarious)! Our family has been praying for you since the beginning and we’ll continue to do so until you’ve completely beat this thing! God is obviously using you and your story in a powerful way and I’m privileged to be following along. Sending love and prayers from Cuyahoga Falls Ohio!

    Like

  20. God bless you Stephanie, you are an inspiration to us all! Even though I have just met you through Alpha, I feel that I have known you for longer. It sounds like your recovery is going well and keep believing that you will be healed. You are in my prayers daily.

    Like

  21. I love your positive attitude!!! Praying chemo and radiation will get rid of any cancer cells. Praying that you will not have a lot of side effects. I think about you often!!

    Like

  22. It so amazing and awesome to see your faith and the LORD walking with you. Will keep you and your family in my thoughts and prayers. God Bless

    Like

  23. Stephanie, dear, thanks for the update. I look forward to your
    Blogs. So glad you are where you are. Keeping you close in prayer.
    Glad for your “fashionable”
    Gown! Lol!

    Like

  24. Stephanie we have so many people praying that your radiation and chemo go well. Joe (my husband Joe) saw your pic with the radiation mask and almost broke out in hives. He just had 29 radiation treatments down at Duke for recurrent vocal cord cancer. All good now but scary while he went through it. You also will get through this because you are strong, have a great family support and most of all an amazing faith that God has this. Thoughts and prayers for you, your family and your beautiful Sarah!

    Like

Leave a Reply

