Spreading like WILDFIRE

As I’m sitting here sipping on my evening cocktail (sadly it’s medicinal and not wine-my friend says it smells like a drink trying to be tang but isn’t haha), I’ve been reflecting on the last few weeks. Have they been crazy or what? I’m so glad I shared my “incomplete” story a few weeks ago because now I see EXACTLY what I’m being called to do. Speak. Share my story. Evangelize. Show the world that GOD IS NOT DEAD! He has already worked so many miracles for us and I’m so glad that I’ve been able to share all of them! It’s so amazing being able to see God so present in such a modern world. 
People’s magazine called me this weekend to do an article, followed by The Today Show, and Southern Living (SL didn’t call, but thy posted an article). This story is spreading like WILDFIRE! Maybe I shouldn’t be, but I am so surprised and shocked by this! I never imagined that something so bad and so devastating could bring so much hope and joy to people all over the world. It is so clear to me that this is what He is calling me to do right now. I know this happened to me so that I could be a living testimony to God’s love for us and to show that prayer works, even in 2017. It’s still pretty funny to me that it needed to be public speaking, but hey! I’ll do whatever He wants me to do! 
So I feel like I’ve written about this but I feel the need to just clarify this, even though it makes me look pessimistic. All of these articles say I’m “cancer free” and “cured” and although I won’t argue with that because I hope that’s the case, there is no cure for Glioblastoma. I can’t say I consider myself cured. I feel like “stable” might be a better word. I wish I could say this didn’t happen often, but I have moments (minutes) where I begin to lose hope. Every time I feel a shooting pain in my head, or I get confused, or I forget something, it terrifies me. But in those times when I start to feel that way, I know I can’t lose hope because as I’ve said, hope is everything. And reading through comments on here reminds me of that hope I need to have and that I need to keep to get through this. I know I don’t respond, but I read every single comment, message, or text I receive and they bring me so much joy and as I said, hope. All of this to say, please don’t stop praying for me. For our family. We absolutely trust that God has this, but it doesn’t mean we don’t get scared. We must let our Faith be stronger than our fear. 

32 thoughts on “Spreading like WILDFIRE

  1. God bless you. I am a pediatric nurse who has worked in oncology and I am praying for you everyday day! Your faith and your positive attitude will be your best medicine!

    Like

  2. This story has truly changed my perspective on the power of prayer, and made me realize the complete void in my own life. I cannot thank you enough for opening my eyes to the need to slow down and enjoy my time with my children and just living life.

    Like

  3. Stephanie, you know, I Believe that God has a purpose for everything, for all who believe in him. God has a reason for everything. You have been and can be a very instrumental person in bringing people closer to God or even knowing him in the first place. God has apparently entrusted you with a very invaluable gift — that being the gift of “witness.” Because of your “situation” you have become a great witness for God. Wow! I do pray for you and your family! i know whatever happens that God is going to give you and your family peace in your soul. Thank you for your witness even to me!

    Joy Shannon
    (Ev’s Aunt)

    Like

  4. Stephanie- I can’t imagine NOT keeping you and your family in my prayers. Hope the wig works for you, if/when needed.

    Like

  5. You are only human, dont forget that…and as a human you will have fears, second thoughts, etc. satan loves to give us fear bcause it makes us temporialy forget we have an awesome God. So next time you feel that say, I am my beloved’s and He is mine. You have been put here to share this message I know that with all my heart and your beautiful faith is shining through it all. Dont forget Moses, Nicademis, Jonah, Peter, Rick Warren all were called and said I fear, I cant speak, Lord The Lord said, then I will speak through you be my voice, my feet, my hands, my arms, that is all I ask.

    Like

  6. Lots of prayers for you and your family. It seems that when someone doesn’t try to inspire others, that is when they become the most inspiring. Your faith and witness is VERY inspiring and your light is shining very bright.

    Like

  7. Stephanie, I enjoy reading each of your blog posts. I am so encouraged by the way that God is using you and appreciate the tender way you have come to trust and enjoy Him. I can relate to many parts of what you say here through our own miraculous journey with my husband’s health. His tumor (pituitary tumor) is noncancerous, but was horrendously large. Doctor’s have been able to shrink it to about half the size, but don’t think they will ever be able to operate. In the meantime, his heart has stopped several times (they think because of seizures caused by the tumor), and yet the Lord has revived him each time. Doctors are amazed that he is even alive, and at this point it seems that he truly is healed. Yet, like you, I know that sense of caution. After having to revive him on my own twice, I still get jumpy every time he breathes funny or looks tired. Yet, the Lord is teaching us to enjoy each day (my mantra is “six minutes at a time”). Jesus’s advice is right when He encouraged us not to worry about tomorrow, because today has enough challenges. I do pray for your family regularly … mostly that you will be able to ward off all fears and enjoy your precious family as well as the opportunities He has brought to share your (His) beautiful story. Keep shining bright … you are touching many of us!

    Like

  8. Anyway you can proof read these articles that are written? It is misleading the way they are written, and for Glioblastoma fighters everywhere, it means another 100 more e mails in our in box from misguided friends touting another miraculous cure, and if only we had our loved one see your surgeon, we wouldn’t be where we are now. Raising the awareness of GBM is important, just that the right information should be given to the public. Thank you and keep fighting.

    Like

  9. I continue to pray for your complete healing Stephanie. I pray for your Mom and Dad, your husband and daughter. Keep your chin up. God is with you.

    Like

  10. I pray for you everyday at morning Mass. Keep giving the glory to God! He will protect you and give you peace and hope. When you are feeling fearful that is satan trying to steal your joy. Cast him out in the name of Jesus and he will flee! Blessings to you and your family sweet lady!

    Like

  11. I have followed your story from the beginning. I don’t even remember how I stumbled upon it. However, you and your family are amazing. I am a nurse, so I understand that you can’t say that you are cured. But your openness to God and his plan/design has been inspiring. It has inspired me to remain open to God’s will in the little things I do each day. I think of you often and keep you all in my prayers daily. I hope you continue to keep your head up and that God continues to give you the strength you need to get through each day.

    Like

  12. I just prayed for you this morning, Stephanie! Regardless of whether the details are perfect or not, your story is saving lives in more ways than you know. What do we have if we don’t have hope and faith? Thank you for continuing to be open and vulnerable. You are such a beautiful, glowing light in this world.

    Like

  13. You are an inspiration to SO many people, Stephanie. I ask God each night when I say my bedtime prayers to continue holding you and your entire family in His loving arms.

    Like

  14. One of the most beautiful blogs i’ve ever read. I’m a 21 year old college student pursuing a career in Marketing and Business Management in Cleveland, OH. I might seem like an ordinary girl, but what connects both of us is our faith in Jesus Christ, inexplicable but definitely overflowing. You are prayed for every single day. Thank you for showing the beauty and love for Jesus Christ in such a beautiful way. Faith can move mountains, and cancer messed with the wrong person! Can’t wait to see this miracle happen 🙂

    Like

  15. I began following your story a few days before your surgery when one of my former students reached out on Facebook for prayers for you. She went to college with your husband. I am amazed at your strength, your graciousness, and your ability to connect through your writing. I feel as though I know you and often find myself logging on to see if you’ve posted an update. I believe God heals and I pray that you are completely healed. You have a beautiful spirit and although we’ve never met, you have been a blessing in my life and I’m sure you’re reaching far more people with your testimony than you can even imagine. May God continue to bless you and your sweet, beautiful family.

    Like

  16. Hello Stephanie my name is Anthony. I don’t know where to start with this at all. Haha The love of my life was actually diagnosed with grade 4 Glioblastoma as well. It’s crazy how much and how close you two were in this whole situation. Megan is 27, she is also beautiful, talented, someday I know she will be the best wife ever! 😉 and we are hoping that someday, if the chemotherapy and radiation don’t kill her chances, she will be the best mom ever! As you can see I take your husband’s side of knowing our girls are the best thing that has ever happened to us. Anyways I was writing to let you into our similar world. Megan started having bad migraines starting around the 20th of Feb. They would come and go but the worst of them would be in the middle of the night to early morning. She explained to me that she had never experienced anything like them in her life. I told her she should go to the hospital to get checked out but she didn’t want to have to go and them just send her home with meds for a headache. So the week went on and one of the mornings she that she had woke up crying I told her that was it she needed to go to the doctor that day. She finally agreed and on Feb 28th she went to the hospital. She went in and talked to the doctor and he sent her straight to a near by hospital the have an MRI done. I was working and got a call from her best friend that drove her around that day from doctor to hospital. She said that it was bad news and Megan needed me asap. I rushed over to the hospital and as she couldn’t speak her friend told me that they found a mass on her brain. She was the transported to hospital 45 minutes away where they deal more with these situations. 28th though the early morning if the 1st of March she went through testing and they said they wanted to have surgery that morning. The surgeon came in that morning and said he would want to wait one more day since he did not get a full nights rest. So in the 2nd she go wheeled out of the room full of the family and I.  The surgery was about 4 hours and went well. They said the xrays show that they got am if it out but…. as you know the cells can pop up and form into tumors at any point in her life. On the 4th they came in and told her if she feels ok she can leave that day. We decided that it would be best if she stayed in the hospital for one more day just in case. So On the 5th, just 3 days later, we packed up and went home. We waited around for the call from the surgeon for us to come in so we could get the biopsy of the tumore. On the 9th we went in and the surgeon explained the worst news of all. The biopsy came back as Glioblastoma. They quickly set dates of the 10th for radiation and 13th for chemotherapy.  She went to the appointments and they set everything up for her to start both.  Before She started the treatments She wanted to find anyway possible, besides freezing her eggs because She didn’t have time, to help with the chances of having a baby in the future. We did research and a friend of the family told us about a shot called Lupron. So on the 20th She went in and got the shot. I’m sure you can look into it if you are wondering about it.  She then started on the 3rd of April radiation, after getting fitted for the mask, and chemotherapy, after picking up a ton of chemotherapy pills. We are now 18 days into treatments and she needs 33 days of it. She has trouble some days. Sad days. Troubled days. It’s all like a roller coaster, as i know you know. We have had friends of friends saying she should email this person or that person because they had the same thing. But each time they have been grade 3. I know she would love to talk to someone about it but she doesn’t want to reach out so I am reaching out to you. I know this was long but I figured you would be interested. If there is anyway possible for you to contact me and I can set you two up. She told me she cried reading your article. To know someone was out there going through the same thing as her at the same point of your life’s.  Please contact me. I would mean tons!!! God is with you. And you are now in my prayers. Please email me @ anthonypacheco1989@yahoo.com

    Like

  17. Stephanie, I am praying for you! I am the Executive Director of Brain Tumor Alliance and we are based in St. Petersburg, FL. I would love for you to come to one of our events and talk about your journey. We desperately need survivors to give others HOPE. I am a stage 3 colon cancer survivor and I couldn’t have gotten through that without my faith and assurance that God had his hand all over me and I knew He would take care of me. I am shocked how many people don’t have that faith and how they deal with cancer not having God walking with them through their journey. My email is debbie@braintumoralliance.org and I would love to talk with you. We have The Great BrainWash event which is a water slide run/walk in August in downtown St. Pete, on November 18 we have a cyle/run/walk starting at Ft. DeSoto and we are planning a gala for September 30 called Cowboys and Angels. So we have a lot planned for Florida and next week we are in Boston. Let me know if you would like to come to one of our Florida events and share your story.

    Like

  18. I saw your story shortly before your operation on a Facebook feed from a mutual friend and have been following your blog ever since. You are incredible. Your ability to to connect through your writing has made me feel as through I know you! I pray for you and I know that God is using you to reach others. God does perform miracles and God does heal! I believe with my whole heart that He has healed you. Thank you for being an inspiration and example to others. You are amazing ❤️

    Like

  19. I knew Michael from college and have been following your story. I am so impressed by your strength, faith and attitude. I saw someone I knew from grade school in nc share an article about you on Facebook! You are truly touching people’s lives with your story. Sending prayers to you and your family ❤️

    Like

  20. We prayed for you this morning sweet girl and will continue to lift you and your family up. Remember there can be a cure with our God. He is the great physician and we claim that for you!! ❤

    Like

  21. We continue to keep you in our prayers. You are so smart and have every right to feel every way you do. God is the Great Healer so continue to let your faith guide you ; that is what He wants.

    26 He said, “If you listen carefully to the Lord your God and do what is right in his eyes, if you pay attention to his commands and keep all his decrees, I will not bring on you any of the diseases I brought on the Egyptians, for I am the Lord, who heals you.” Exodus 15 :26

    I’m so proud to know you.

    Like

  22. Hi, I found your story on facebook and I just wanted to say that it has really touched my heart and that you are a very special, and inspirational person.

    Look into microactive curcumin – its a supplement that could help.
    I found a medical article that explains how it might help:
    “Therapeutic Potential of Curcumin for the Treatment of Brain Tumors”.
    https://www.hindawi.com/journals/omcl/2016/9324085/

    You and your family are in my prayers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

