On the Right Path

      2 cycles of chemo down. Doubled the dose and man, did it knock me down or what! I don’t know that I’ve ever felt as sick as I have the past few days. Gosh it’s been miserable. BUT. I think I’m on the upswing… again. Boy am I thankful for all the help, especially this week. Karen and Amanda came in this past week to help us out (and visit, of course!) while I did this next round of chemo. It’s just so nice not even having to set an alarm in the morning. It gives my body a chance to heal more completely. 

My Papa was telling me when he did his radiation, that it changed the way things tasted to him and I was very thankful that one passed..nope. What food tastes like now is awful. I seriously had NO idea that that happened. I’m hoping this is one of those side effects that doesn’t last me the next year or two because it’s pretty miserable. I can’t even describe what it does. (And over the course of a few days that it took my type this all up, that has sense subsided, thank goodness!)
Optune is going well overall. I think about 10 people have asked me what it was, and I was so happy to tell people all about my alien cap. I’m so surprised with myself. Sometimes I find myself staring at someone and screaming in my head “ASK ME! DO IT!” Sure, It’s not a cure, but anything that can slow down or kill cancer cells is worth trying. The not so fun parts? Everything else. Lugging it around and being attached to it pretty much 24-7. Surprisingly, having michael shave my head every few days doesn’t bother me as much as I thought it would! I think it has to do more with the fact that I just really love the 6 hour break from my cap every few days and it’s guaranteed time together so I can shed some hair for that. 
 I was hopeful that I could wear a wig over it but it makes the optune device overheat, which makes it beep and not work so I’m only able to wear a wig or consticting hats when I’m not wearing optune (so not often). Loose fitting hats have been my saving grace although I’ve been walking around with nothing over it more often than anything else. 
I wish I could say that I’ve been feeling great this whole time. I was hospitalized again last weekend and was released Monday. I was extremely nauseas the whole weekend and wasn’t able to keep anything down for about 36-48 hours. They aren’t exactly sure why I got so sick which is why we are headed back to our out of town doctor tonight for a day of scans and appointments tomorrow. I’m asking that you please please PLEASE continue to send prayers our way. With so much unknown, prayers are what get you through something like this. 

In the midst of a crazy weekend and being hospitalized, the Lord reminded us again that we are on the right path. After we checked into the hospital (which is apparently a Christian one), we went to our room and saw a plaque on the door saying that the room was furnished by our church! There were a lot of rooms so I thought that was pretty neat to end up in that

29 thoughts on “On the Right Path

  1. Stephanie, I want you to know that I am praying for you and when I see there is an email from you, I always drop everything to read it. I am glad both that you are feeling better and that food tastes okay again for you!

    Like

  2. Continued prayers. Taking your prayers to the Society Devoted to the Sacred Heart this weekend. God bless you all.

    Like

  3. Stephanie, you are always in our thoughts and prayers. We are thankful for the faithful inspiration that you provide and we know that you are an instrument of God’s. Sending you hugs and strength fromQito, Ecuador

    Like

  4. How amazing that you’re in a room furnished by St. D’s. . God is with you every step of the way. Praying for you.

    Like

  5. I’m loving you and Michael and Sarah every second of your journey!

    Now I’m thinking that people looking at you are wondering if you are Amish because of your cap, but if I know you, the rest of your outfit has absolutely no resemblance to any of the dull colors and plain lines a respectable young Amish lady would wear! They are probably pretty baffled. If you throw in a”thee” or a “thou” you will probably just completely blow their minds.

    Like

  6. Praying for safe travels and good reports from all your tests. I too stop and read what you have written as soon as I get your email. You are an amazing woman and inspiring. The last two words of the hospital are Sacred Heart (gives you that sense of peace from Him). God’s blessing be with each of you.

    Like

  7. Ah yes! When I see a Faith, Hope, and Love message, the Author and Perfecter of your/our Faith causes me to praise Him because He is enabling you to hope in His unfailing love, and enabling me to trust Him as I pray for and with you, Dear Daughter of the God of love, Whose love for you is as intimate as your husband cutting your hair, as atttentive as your helpful visitors, and as powerful as the creator of the countless details (hospital room furnished by your church) He is enpowering you to experience and to bless us by sharing with us. With His love and my prayers, jude&Jesus

    Like

  8. Just a thought-the chemo might be messing up your tastebuds. I’m a pizza and burger junkie, but for the six months I was getting therapy, I couldn’t even stand to watch a commercial on TV for those two foods.

    Prayers are continuing to head to you

    Like

  9. Continued prayers for you, pretty and faithful lady! May God continue to guide, guard and direct you! BTW, you look very cute in the optune!

    Like

  10. I understand that “I DARE you to ask me what this is!” feeling–I experienced it when short sleeved shirts displayed the PICC ports hanging out of my arm when I was pregnant with Ethan haha.

    Reading about you ending up in a room furnished by our church put the biggest grin on my face! I’m wishing you well on this insane roller coaster of treatment and we’re still praying!! *Hugs*

    Like

  11. No, you don’t know me and I haven’t commented since your first posts–but I’m thinking this might be a good time to remind you that I’m still following you and haven’t stop praying! By coincidence (or “Godincidince,” as the case may be), I have a “Faith Hope Love” plaque in my bedroom. It has taken on an even deeper meaning because of your story. Yes, believe… God blesses those who trust Him!

    Like

  12. Continued prayers! My husband has GBM and at the 20 month mark. We go to OU Medical as well! It’s a tough road but stay strong, positive attitude, lots of love❤️

    Like

  13. Stephanie, I so hope things are going better for you … you are feeling physically better, food tastes better, and certainly that the nausea is a thing of the past. You (and Michael and Sarah too) are having to go through so much. But, we know that God is going through all of this with you. He’s got all of you in His Hands. My continued prayers for you, your care-givers, and most especially your wonderful WONDERFUL husband.

    Like

  14. We keep​ praying. Do you know Dave and Chris Berg? They are friends of ours from Jay’s air Force days at malmstrom af base in great falls Montana. They live in Hampton, VA. Chris says she knows you from church and that you sang in the choir. Small world.

    Like

  15. Praying for you Stephanie. You are strong, courageous and a Beautiful child of God, I know his arms are around you .

    Like

  16. This is my first response to anyone I did not already know. Ever!! But I feel like it’s important I reach out to you. I am a 32 year old woman with a 2 year old daughter and another daughter who just turned 5 a couple of weeks ago. I received, at the beginng of the month in February 2017, the terrible news that I have a grade 3 brain tumor (Anaplastic astrocytoma). I live in Florida and have a wonderful neuro-surgeon who had the fun task of removing my huge tumor… and he did. I just had my first MRI a few days ago, and it is going well!! I’m on Chemo this week (my third), so I know how exhausting it can be… I’m babbling. Haha!!! I just want you know that I am here for you. I will talk to you on the phone or by email… or both!! I will help you in any way possible. I have a strong faith as well and have been trusting in God in more ways than I ever thought I would need to. I have always been a believer in God, but my faith and trust in Him have returned substantially since this all began this year. I could not do this without Him. I don’t know how I came across your page because I do not get on the computer much, and I have not been on Facebook since this all began earlier this year… but I came across your page somehow. Again, I am here for you. My name is Abby 🙂 Many hugs and prayers to you my friend!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

