Yes.

“…There would be Stephanie who waited to marry until she met a man with deep spiritual roots, a tender approach, and a solid character. The decision to wait for this man, proved crucial in helping Stephanie survive the cancer she’d battle in her late twenties. Now, she was a survivor with a strong marriage and a solid calling to help others facing life altering circumstances.”

Today was nothing short of God speaking to me. My Aunt is reading a book called “The Best Yes” by Lysa Terkeurst and shared the following passage from it. As she read it to me, I immediately broke down. I don’t even know how to process it all, it seems like it was written specifically for me. It was. It had to have been.  I mean really? Stephanie? I think maybe I was supposed to see that, what do you think? And the fact that the book is called “The Best Yes.” It reminds me a lot of “the yes story” from my surgery with how in your face God is here. It’s nothing short of amazing.

If that wasn’t enough to lift me up for the next year, this was pretty amazing too. We have family in town right now helping out and today my cousin and I were sitting at the table and she pointed out a cardinal sitting on our fence. I had no idea before but I guess that the cardinal is a symbol of hope. Hope, Faith, and our Christian blood. I smiled and thought that was neat. Then tonight at mass, the girl in front of us had a cardinal (a fake, decorative one) in her hair. I was like seriously?! He knows when I need the reassurance.

A slight change of pace from above, but an update none the less…

Overall, I’m feelin good most days, but mornings are typically rough for me though. I tried having a cracker and a La Croix before I got up today and that seemed to help. I swear, I feel like I’m in my first trimester of pregnancy.  My lower back is still really sore from the Lumbar Puncture a couple weeks ago so I’m taking things pretty slowly. I think they may have hit a nerve because I don’t think it’s supposed to hurt this long. I start daily  chemo tomorrow for who knows how long. With 4 different types of anti nausea medicine and a smaller dose, we are hoping to have more success with it this time since I had such a rough time last month..

And to finish up this evening, after 5 months strong, and a lot of chats with Michael, I decided to cut back on the ketogenic diet. It gets to a point where what becomes important is that I’m eating, period, rather than starving myself while trying to stick to a specific diet. I can’t tell you how many nights I went to bed hungry because I couldn’t stomach anything. I’ll save you the number (my weight), but I told myself if I dropped below a certain weight, I would alter my diet. So now here we are! Because I’ve detoxed my body of sugar already, I’m still avoiding most sugars, but I’m bringing back the carbs. At least some. I get to the point where I’m so hungry I feel sick, but I feel so sick I can’t eat. It was a vicious cycle. So for now, I’m focusing more on eating and taking care of myself rather than only letting myself eat things that I can’t stomach and don’t want. I will say that the bowl of macaroni and cheese I just ate was nothing short of amazing. So there’s that!

 

11 thoughts on “Yes.

  1. I’m glad you are eating on your own terms. Very wise move. I have been reading Lysa TerKeurst for awhile. You might enjoy her website http://lysaterkeurst.com/ She also has a Facebook page. She will be in Orlando this fall in mid October. 😍 Hoping and praying you’ll have a less difficult time with the chemo . Love and continued prayers! ❤️❤️❤️

    Like

  2. When I read the first paragraph, I really thought it was about you. Our God has a way of lifting us up when we need it in many different ways, we just have to be open to hearing and listening to Him. Eating is good and thankful the mac and cheese hit the spot. Continuing to lift you up in prayer and your family. May you continue to feel His peace and love each day. God bless and keep you strong in His Love and in His Word.

    Like

  3. GOD is so amazing!! I truly see signs meant just for me everyday ❤ When you stay connected with him… he is not subtle! I'm glad you are always looking to God for all that you are facing. He's always there in our rejoicing, struggles and even the mundane 😉 I love that you wrote this post. I appreciate you so much for your courage and love.

    Like

  4. Continued prayers, refreshed from current needs. Day to day care and hope. May God be ever with you, walking with you, standing with you, and healing you through all the procedures. Prayers for strength and courage, and more Mac n cheese! 💛

    Like

  5. You are such a strong being and I derive positive energy from your every word. I hope you can feel the positive thoughts on return. I have had other friends subjected to chemo and they ate citrus candies because it was the only thing that penetrated the metalic taste in their mouths. They also found ginger to help with the nausea. I hope these will work for you, too. Sending big hugs.

    Like

  6. I have been following your blog ever since seeing you on the news and have been praying for complete healing. I’m sure you get a lot of advice on things to try so I’m very sorry, but for the nausea you really should try drinking ginger tea and finding these ginger chews. And how ironic is it, that the ginger candy brand is called “Prince of Peace”. You can find them at GNC or the Vitamin Shoppe. I hope you can possibly try these and it help somewhat with the nausea. Praying for you and your family.

    Like

  7. Sweet young lady – your courage continues to give all those that follow you inspiration. I am Aunt Carolyn’s step mom living in OKC and I have followed your blog since you were here. I pray that soon you will be having better days and I will continue to lift you and your family up in prayer. Gilda Rhodes

    Like

  8. Stephanie, I know what you mean about the diet thing. When I was diagnosed with breast cancer I immediately stop drinking diet soda and started “juicing” and cutting out sugars. Everyone was coming at me about my diet. Drink akaline water, don’t eat sugar, don’t eat sugar substitutes…do this – don’t do that.., I finally couldn’t take it anymore and asked all 3 of my doctors about this. It was making me crazy trying to be perfect in my diet. All 3 of my doctors said the same thing- all things in moderation. Definitely don’t eat as much sugar but all things in moderation. I finally relaxed and just take it one day at a time.
    I believe God healed me and He will sustain me.
    I am believing for you too! Just keep speaking healing over yourself! Jesus paid the ultimate price for our healing. By His stripes WE ARE HEALED!
    God bless you!

    Like

  9. 🌷Stephanie, you are Amazing and Beautiful inside and out.
    Continue to stand tall and know God is always with you holding your
    hand. Remember to look up so you don’t miss any rainbows.🤗🌈💕
    Love you😘

    Like

Leave a Reply

