In the beginning..

     As michael, Sarah and I were sitting in mass together, I was reminded of the first time michael and I celebrated mass together. When was that you might ask? Our wedding day. How is this possible you might ask? Well here is our story and proof that God has a hand in everything. 
     Michael and I were NOT high school sweethearts. However, we did go to high school together. We were just two very different people. My senior year of college, I was at the grocery store when I ran into an old high school friend. We were talking and by the end of the conversation, I found out his mom was the music director at a local church and needed a cantor. So I met with his mom and got the job. I was now the cantor for all five masses a weekend. I mind you, I was not catholic at the time. 

     I began singing at St. Marys and loved it. Everyone was so kind and sweet to me. As it turns out, it was the church that Michael’s parents went to. One day, michael decided to drive down and go to mass with his parents. I promise you, when I was standing up there singing, I got tunnel vision when I saw him. I immediately knew this was the man I was going to marry, even if he was a big dork in high school. Michael wasn’t even supposed to be living there, he was supposed to go to school in Texas and then took this job last minute. He prayed a lot about whether or not to take this new job but ultimately he decided to take this new job because he felt like it may be where he would meet his future wife. DING DING DING!!!

     We started dating in June and had the most fun that summer! And it was exactly one year (to the day) from our first date and our wedding day. Because I cantered every weekend, we were never able to sit together or celebrate mass together. As it turns out, before we started dating, I decided to go through RCIA and become catholic. I initially wanted michael to be my sponsor but then decided quickly that that probably wouldn’t be the best thing if I had feelings for him. So I did RCIA and finished at the Easter Vigil that year. 

     I finished RCIA two months before our wedding but at this point, what’s another two months? So we waited until our wedding day and I’m so glad that we did. It made everything so much more special. Finally being able to share in communion with my best friend and husband. It’s just so clear that we were brought together. It reminds me of the passage I posted on here a few weeks ago from the book “the Best Yes” about how ‘Stephanie waited for a strong and faith filled husband.’ That’s exactly what happened. My family used to call me a serial dater, but I just didn’t want to waste months or years dating someone I knew wasn’t “the one.” And I just knew so quickly with Michael. Everything I have done and that he has done brought us together: the good and the bad and I couldn’t be happier or more thankful for my loving and dorky husband. 

     

16 thoughts on “In the beginning..

  1. Love it!!! And I was there at St. Mary, the “old” church, and remember your story like it was yesterday. Everyone loved being at Mass when you cantored.
    Yeah he’s not dorky at all!! LOL What a simply gorgeous wedding picture! Perfection for such a beautiful couple! It’s so nice that you cherish each other always.

    Like

  2. What a beautiful love story….indeed God’s hands were at work. I remember you cantering at ICC…your voice is so beautiful that it would make tear up. Hugs and Blessings, Donna A

    Like

  3. I have known Michael along time, many years and you two were def brought together by God. I yruly believe God brings two people together and sometimrs it two “different” personalities. God has such a great sense of humor but He always knows what is best! He knew you both in the womb….He already had you picked for each other then. Love you both

    Like

  4. Stephanie, I, too, met the Koslow at St. Mary church in franklin. I sang with the choir and helped with the youth choir. I chaperoned a retreat that Christina attended. The Koslow are such a wonderful and faith-filled family and you (though I don’t know you) are clearly a perfect fit! I am tickled to know this is where you all were married. I am following your story and am inspired by your faith. Thank you for sharing it with us. I continue to pray for you! -Katy McCormick

    Like

  5. A match made in heaven – literally! Love you guys so much! And btw, dorky husbands are the best kind. 😁🖒

    Like

  6. A beautiful love story – with one another and God. God bless you both and your marriage as you continue to grow deeper in love with one another and with our God.

    Like

  7. You two were always meant to be. God planned it from the beginning. He sustains you. If you’ve never heard this song you must google it!

    The Wedding Song
    Paul Stookey~1971

    He is now to be among you at the calling of your hearts
    Rest assured this troubadour is acting on His part
    The union of your spirits here has caused Him to remain
    For whenever two or more of you are gathered in His name
    There is love, there is love

    Well a man shall leave his mother, and a woman leave her home
    They shall travel on to where the two shall be as one
    As it was in the beginning is now until the end
    A woman draws her life from man and gives it back again
    And there is love, there is love

    Well then what’s to be the reason for becoming man and wife
    Is it love that brings you here or love that gives you life
    For if loving is the answer then who’s the giving for
    Do you believe in something that you’ve never seen before
    Oh there’s love, oh there’s love

    Oh, the marriage of your spirits here has caused Him to remain
    For whenever two or more of you are gathered in His name
    There is love, oh there’s love

    Written by Noel Paul Stookey • Copyright © Warner/Chappell Music, Inc, Music & Media Int’l, Inc

    Like

  8. This little story made me tear up a bit! I can still remember when you guys started dating. I was surprised how quickly things moved for you both, but boy did God know what he was doing when he put you together. You are perfect for each other!

    Like

Leave a Reply

